Friday, May 20, 2016

Finalists For The 2016 Gerald Loeb Award for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism

Per the eligibility specs consideration is limited to items/elements published or broadcast in the United States in the calendar year 2015.
My interest this year was whether the Wall Street Journal's John Carreyrou would be a finalist for his series on Theranos.
He is.

From UCLA's Anderson School of Management via BusinessWire:
Judy D. Olian, chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation Inc. and dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management, today announced the finalists of the 2016 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism. She also announced the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award.

The 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Paul Ingrassia, former managing editor of Reuters. This annual award recognizes an individual whose career exemplifies the consistent and superior insight and professional skills necessary to further the understanding of business, financial and economic issues.

Amy Stevens, executive editor, professional news at Reuters, will receive the 2016 Lawrence Minard Editor Award, named in memory of Laury Minard, founding editor of Forbes Global and a former final judge for the Loeb Awards. This award honors excellence in business, financial and economic journalism editing, and recognizes an editor whose work does not receive a byline or whose face does not appear on-air for the work covered.

Ingrassia and Stevens will receive their career achievement awards at the 2016 Gerald Loeb Awards banquet and celebration on Tuesday, June 28, 2016, at Capitale in New York City. Winners in the 12 competition categories will also be announced during the banquet.

The banquet and celebration is attended by the most influential journalists, publishers and producers in the nation. This year’s event will be hosted by Tyler Mathisen, co-anchor of CNBC’s Power Lunch. The official invitation, with ticket, table, sponsorship and advertising information can be viewed at

The following #LoebAwards finalists were chosen from more than 490 entries submitted by local, regional and national outlets:
Audio Category Finalists
  • Dana Wolfe, John Donvan, Robert Rosenkranz, Clea Conner Chang, Kris Kamikawa, Alison Russell, Amy Krafft, Adelaide Mandeville, Lia Matthow, Shea O’Meara, Taylor Quimby, Rob Christiansen, Damon Whittemore, and Katie Kemple for “Central Banks Can Print Prosperity” – Intelligence Squared U.S.
  • Rebecca Plevin for “Navigating the Costly World of Health Care” – KPCC
  • Chris Arnold, Uri Berliner, Neal Carruth, Lori Todd, and Heidi Glenn for “Your Money and Your Life” – NPR
  • Colleen DeBaise, Sue Williams, Victoria Wang, Nusha Balyan, Sam Shinn, and Michelle Ciotta for “Succeeding as a Woman in Tech – Shaan Kandawalla, Melody McCloskey, Amy Sheng” – The Story Exchange
Beat Reporting Category Finalists
  • Dan Murtaugh, Lynn Doan, Harry R. Weber, and David Wethe for “The Shale Boom Blows Up” – Bloomberg News
  • Jenny Deam for “Healthcare Reporting” – Houston Chronicle
  • Paul Kiel, Annie Waldman, and Al Shaw for “The Color of Debt” – ProPublica
  • John Carreyrou, Michael Siconolfi, and Christopher Weaver for “Testing Theranos” – The Wall Street Journal
Breaking News Category Finalists
  • David McLaughlin, Todd Shields, Gerry Smith, Lucas Shaw, Alex Sherman, and Ed Hammond for “Cable Cut” – Bloomberg News
  • Kavita Kumar, Adam Belz, Mike Hughlett, Joe Carlson, and Kristen Leigh Painter for “Target Exits Canada” – Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • Jason Del Rey, Kurt Wagner, and Kara Swisher for “Jack Dorsey’s Third Act” – Re/code
  • John Hilsenrath, Ben Leubsdorf, Greg Ip, Sudeep Reddy, Josh Zumbrun, Jeffrey Sparshott, Patricia Minczeski, Martin Burch, Elliot Bentley and Rachel Louise Ensign for “Fed Rate Increase” – The Wall Street Journal
  • David Benoit, Jacob Bunge, Dana Cimilluca, Dana Mattioli, and Dennis K. Berman for “Inside the Dow-DuPont Merger” – The Wall Street Journal

Loeb Awards homepage at Anderson