Monday, June 25, 2018

Journalism: "UCLA Anderson School of Management Announces 2018 Gerald Loeb Award Winners"

In financial journalism the Loeb Awards hold a position relative to the Pulitzers analogous to that in economics of the John Bates Clark Medal in relation to the Nobel Prize. In each case the lesser known is actually the more prestigious.

At least among the cognoscenti.
And not to diss David Cay Johnston who somehow wrangled a 2001 Pulitzer for Beat Reporting, despite his beat being the U.S. tax code.

From this evening's press release:

News provided by
UCLA Anderson School of Management
Jun 25, 2018, 23:04 ET

Lifetime Achievement Award Goes to Joann S. Lublin, John Hillkirk Receives Lawrence Minard Editor Award
Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 Gerald Loeb Awards Ceremony on June 25, 2018

NEW YORK, June 25, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- The winners of the 2018 Gerald Loeb Awards were announced at a ceremony and banquet tonight at Capitale, with journalists from across the nation in attendance. The Gerald Loeb Awards are among the highest honors in journalism, recognizing the work of journalists whose contributions illuminate the world of business, finance and the economy for readers and viewers around the globe.

Judy D. Olian, dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management and chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation, welcomed Loeb Awards honorees and their guests. Tyler Mathisen, co-anchor of CNBC's Power Lunch, served as master of ceremonies. The ceremony also celebrated Gerald Loeb's legacy with historical footage of the Wall Street icon.

The Gerald Loeb Awards include two special awards for career contributions: The Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented to Joann S. Lublin, former management news editor of the Wall Street Journal, and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award, which was awarded to Kaiser Health News' senior enterprise editor, John Hillkirk. In addition, winners of 12 competition categories were named at the banquet. The following is a list of the 2018 Loeb Award recipients.

Audio Winner"Robot-Proof Jobs" by David Brancaccio, Katie Long, Nicole Childers, Ben Tolliday, Daniel Ramirez, and Paulina VelascoMarketplace

Beat Reporting Winner"Automating Hate" by Julia Angwin, Jeff Larson, Ariana Tobin, Madeleine Varner, Noam Scheiber, and Hannes Grassegger – ProPublica

Breaking News Winner"Ouster at Uber" by Mike Isaac, Farhad Manjoo, Kevin Roose, and Ashwin Seshagiri – The New York Times

Commentary Winner"The Pharmalot View" by Ed SilvermanSTAT

Explanatory Winner"The Body Trade" by Brian Grow, John Shiffman, Blake Morrison, Elizabeth Culliford, Reade Levinson, Nicholas Bogel-Burroughs, Zach Goelman, and Mike WoodReuters 

Feature Winner"Stickin' With the Pig: A Tale of Loyalty and Loss" by Tony BartelmeThe Post and Courier

Images/Graphics/Interactives Winner"The Trump Effect Graphics" by Christine Chan, Matthew Weber, and the Reuters team – Reuters

International Winner"China's Surveillance State" by Josh Chin, Liza Lin, Eva Dou, Clément Bürge, Wenxin Fan, Natasha Khan, Dan Strumpf, Charles Rollet, Jeremy Page, Elliot Bentley, Jenny O'Grady, Tyler Paige, and Giulia MarchiThe Wall Street Journal

Investigative Winner "Culture of Harassment" by Emily Steel, Michael S. Schmidt, Jodi Kantor, Megan Twohey, Susan Chira, and Catrin EinhornThe New York Times

Local Winner"The Tax Divide" by Jason Grotto, Sandhya Kambhampati, and Hal DardickChicago Tribune and ProPublica Illinois

Personal Finance Winner"The Equifax Breach" by Ron LieberThe New York Times

Video Winner"Future of Money" by Chris Buck, Kyra Darnton, Solana Pyne, Laurence B. Chollet, Karen M. Sughrue, Erik German, Maria Villaseñor, Noah Madoff, and Jeff BernierRetro Report and Quartz

Experience the Gerald Loeb Awards banquet and celebration by searching #LoebAwards on Twitter and Instagram.

The board of trustees of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation and UCLA Anderson wish to thank all those who contributed to the success of the 2018 Loeb Awards. Prestige Platinum Sponsor: Building America; Platinum Sponsors: The Wall Street Journal, Reuters, The New York Times; Gold Sponsor: Prudential, Bloomberg; Silver Sponsors: CBS News, Edelman, USA Today; Bronze Sponsors: Los Angeles Times, Ovio Technologies Inc., Yahoo!; Loeb Associate Sponsors: Kaiser Health News, Law360, VICE on HBO, Quartz. For more information about the Loeb Awards, please visit the Loeb Awards website at

About The Gerald Loeb Awards The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. Loeb created the awards to encourage and support reporting on business and finance that would inform and protect the private investor and the general public. Journalists and media outlets nationwide submit entries to compete for the Loeb Awards, the most prestigious honor in business journalism. In 1973, Loeb appointed UCLA Anderson the steward of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation. The Dean of UCLA Anderson chairs the award's final judging committee of leading journalists, news executives and academics. The awards use a two-tier judging process comprising a preliminary round (in Los Angeles) and final round (in New York City). The awards banquet and celebration is held in New York City every June and is attended by many of the country's most influential journalists, editors, publishers, producers, and media personalities. The foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support....