Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Ahead of Tonight's Gerald Loeb Awards for Financial and Business Reporting...

We like Mr. Loeb's thinking and we like FinBiz journos (they give us some of our best ideas).

From UCLA's Anderson School of Management:
2015 Loeb Awards Click to Submit Entry
The Gerald Loeb Awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, a founding partner of E.F. Hutton. His intention was to encourage reporting on business and finance that would inform and protect the private investor and the general public. As the most prestigious honor in business journalism, distinguished journalists and outlets nationwide submit entries to the competition.
UCLA Anderson has been presenting The Gerald Loeb Awards since 1973 and the awards use a two-tier judging process comprising a preliminary round and final round. The awards banquet and celebration is held in New York City every June and is attended by the country's top business and financial publishers, editors, journalists, producers and celebrities. The Gerald Loeb Awards is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization that operates primarily from sponsorship and private support....

Here's the May 18 press release:
2017 Gerald Loeb Award Finalists, Career Achievement Honorees and Date of Awards Banquet in New York City Announced by UCLA Anderson 

Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Walt Mossberg of The Verge and Recode

Nicholas Varchaver of Fortune to receive Lawrence Minard Editor Award

60th Anniversary banquet and celebration to be held on June 27 in New York City 

LOS ANGELES, May 18, 2017 /PRNewswire/ -- Judy D. Olian, chairman of the G. and R. Loeb Foundation Inc. and dean of UCLA Anderson School of Management, has announced the finalists of the 60th Anniversary Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism. She also revealed the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Lawrence Minard Editor Award.
The 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Walt Mossberg, executive editor at The Verge and Editor-at-Large for Recode. This annual award recognizes an individual whose career exemplifies the consistent, superior insight and professional skills necessary to further the understanding of business, financial and economic issues....MORE, including finalists in all categories.
Finally, the official website.

We'll be back with more on Mr. Loeb throughout the day.